TL;DR
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
CNET presents Yale’s Assure Lock 2 smart locks as a practical holiday gift, highlighting fingerprint or keypad access, remote control through the Yale Access app and several finish options. The material does not provide prices, installation requirements, battery details or model-by-model compatibility information.
CNET is recommending Yale Assure Lock 2 smart locks as a practical holiday gift, pointing to fingerprint or keypad entry, remote access through the Yale Access app and finishes intended to suit different front doors. The recommendation is a product guide rather than a product launch; the supplied details do not include prices or a limited-time promotion.
The guide describes two main Assure Lock 2 options. The fingerprint model combines a fingerprint reader with a touchscreen keypad, while the push-button version uses physical keypad buttons and includes a key for backup. The material says the locks have built-in Wi-Fi and can be controlled through the Yale Access app to check lock status or lock and unlock remotely.
Fingerprint models are listed in Black Suede, Satin Nickel and Oil Rubbed Bronze. The push-button model is described in Black Suede and Satin Nickel. CNET presents the finish choices as a way to coordinate the lock with existing door hardware, and identifies the product listings with Best Buy. No prices, stock levels or purchase links are included in the supplied details.
The guide also points to Auto-Lock and Auto-Unlock among the Assure Lock 2 features. It says access can be shared with family members, dog walkers or visitors, and notes that select Yale models work with popular smart-home platforms. It does not identify which platforms apply to each listed lock or establish that every feature is available on every configuration.
Holiday Gift Guide · Yale Assure Lock 2
A Practical Holiday Gift Idea: Yale Smart Locks
CNET highlights Yale’s Assure Lock 2 as a useful home upgrade, with fingerprint or keypad entry, app-based remote access and finishes designed to suit different front doors. The guide shares feature highlights, while leaving key buying details for shoppers to verify.
“A smart lock might not be the first thing you’d think of wrapping up for a present.”
— CNETEveryday utility, beyond the season
The gift case rests on convenience: different ways to enter, check the lock and share access with people the household trusts.
Choose how to unlock
The fingerprint version pairs a reader with a touchscreen keypad. The push-button option uses physical buttons and includes a backup key.
Check in through the app
Built-in Wi-Fi and the Yale Access app are described as ways to check lock status or lock and unlock remotely.
Let invited people in
The guide mentions sharing access with family, dog walkers or visitors, plus Auto-Lock and Auto-Unlock features.
Two ways to meet at the door
Compare the specific distinctions the guide calls out before choosing a configuration for someone else’s home.
Fingerprint model
Biometric + touch- Fingerprint reader for biometric entry
- Touchscreen keypad also included
- Finishes listed: Black Suede, Satin Nickel, Oil Rubbed Bronze
Push-button model
Buttons + key- Physical keypad buttons
- Physical key included for backup
- Finishes listed: Black Suede, Satin Nickel
Finishes for the front door
CNET presents finish options as a way to coordinate with existing door hardware.
Fingerprint version
Three finishes are named for this version in the supplied guide details.
Push-button version
The guide describes two finish choices for the push-button option.
A simple gift-buyer checklist
Use the recommendation as a starting point, then confirm the details that vary by household and model.
What the supplied guide leaves open
These details are not included, so they should be confirmed before purchase.
Key questions
A quick recap of what this recommendation does and does not establish.
Can the locks be controlled remotely?
The guide says listed models have built-in Wi-Fi and can be checked or controlled through the Yale Access app. It does not describe outage behavior.
Does every model support smart-home platforms?
No such model-by-model confirmation is provided. The guide refers to select Yale models and does not name the platforms.
Are these on sale for the holidays?
No pricing, promotion, stock level or offer deadline is included. Check the current retailer listing.
What’s the practical next step?
Compare the recipient’s preferred entry method, then verify price, availability, installation fit and compatibility for the exact listing.
A Gift With Everyday Use
A smart lock is a household upgrade rather than a seasonal novelty: it can change how residents and invited visitors enter the home. Keypad and fingerprint access may reduce reliance on carrying or handing out physical keys, while app-based controls can let users check the lock or grant access when away. Those uses are the practical case CNET makes for giving one as a present.
The benefits depend on the recipient’s home, preferences and comfort with connected devices. Someone who prefers familiar controls can choose the push-button model with a physical backup key; a recipient who wants biometric entry can choose a fingerprint version. Remote functions also rely on the product’s connectivity and app, so the guide’s convenience claims should not be read as a guarantee of uninterrupted access in every situation.
Products Worth Considering

EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2 Whole-Home Backup System Hub

Samsung 27-Inch Odyssey QD-OLED G8 4K 240Hz Gaming Monitor

DJI Osmo Pocket 3 Creator Combo Vlogging Camera with Mic 2, 1 CMOS, 4K/120fps, 3-Axis Stabilization, 128GB Card
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Choosing Between Lock Versions
The recommendation focuses on a small number of distinctions that matter to a gift buyer: fingerprint versus keypad entry, touchscreen versus physical buttons, the availability of a backup key, and finish. The fingerprint version is described as offering both a fingerprint reader and touchscreen keypad; the push-button option trades those controls for buttons and a physical key.
CNET also places the products in the broader category of connected smart-home locks, noting that select Yale locks support popular platforms. Yale is described in the material as having more than 180 years of security history, but that company background does not by itself establish the performance or compatibility of a particular model. Buyers would need to check the exact listing and their door requirements before purchasing.
““A smart lock might not be the first thing you’d think of wrapping up for a present.””
— CNET
Prices and Compatibility Details
The supplied guide does not state prices, discounts, stock availability or offer deadlines, so it is not possible to assess the cost or whether the models are currently available at the retailer mentioned. It also gives no installation instructions or details about door and lock compatibility.
Other product specifics remain unprovided, including battery life, what happens during a power or internet outage, and which smart-home platforms work with each configuration. The guide says select models support popular platforms but does not name those platforms or connect them to each finish or keypad version. Readers should verify current product specifications before buying.
Check the Listing Before Buying
The next step for anyone considering the gift is to review the current Best Buy listing and Yale’s model-specific specifications for price, availability, installation fit and smart-home compatibility. Gift buyers may also want to confirm whether the recipient prefers fingerprint access, a touchscreen, physical buttons or a backup key.
No product announcement, future release date or promotion end date is given. The immediate development is CNET’s holiday recommendation; any change in pricing, stock or supported features would need to be confirmed through the retailer or Yale.
Key Questions
Which Yale Assure Lock 2 versions does the guide describe?
It describes a fingerprint version with a touchscreen keypad and a push-button version with a physical key for backup.
Can the locks be controlled remotely?
The guide says the listed models have built-in Wi-Fi and can be checked or controlled through the Yale Access app. It does not specify service requirements or how remote control behaves during an internet outage.
What finishes are available?
The fingerprint model is listed in Black Suede, Satin Nickel and Oil Rubbed Bronze. The push-button model is described in Black Suede and Satin Nickel.
Does every Assure Lock 2 work with smart-home platforms?
The guide says select Yale models support popular smart-home platforms, but does not name the platforms or confirm support for each model. Check the exact product specifications before buying.
Does the guide give prices or installation requirements?
No. The supplied details do not include pricing, current stock, installation requirements or door compatibility; these should be checked with the retailer or Yale.
Source: CNET
