Smart plugs with energy monitoring show how much electricity a connected device uses while letting you control it remotely. I rank the Kasa KP115 as the best overall for shoppers seeking a focused energy-monitoring option, with the Tapo P115 standing out for its 15A rating and multiple pack sizes and the Kasa Matter plugs for Matter-based smart home setups. The main tradeoffs are app and platform compatibility, per-plug reporting, outlet space, and whether a multi-pack suits your needs. Pack size alone does not tell you which plug fits your appliances or ecosystem. Read on for the full breakdown and a buying guide to help match a plug to your devices.
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The Kasa KP115 takes the overall spot because it offers energy monitoring in a single-plug format, while Tapo P115 and several Kasa Matter options are better suited to buyers who want multiple plugs.
- Tapo P115 pack size changes the buying decision: its two- and four-pack versions share a 15A rating, so the right choice depends on how many outlets you plan to monitor rather than a different stated load rating.
- Matter separates the Kasa and Tapo P110M options from the Wi-Fi-focused choices, making them more relevant to buyers who prioritize cross-platform smart-home compatibility.
- Four-packs dominate this lineup. Govee, AiSeek, THIRDREALITY, Emporia, and several Kasa and Tapo options suit multi-room plans, but buyers should check each plug’s platform and monitoring details before choosing by quantity alone.
- The lineup serves distinct priorities rather than one universal need: THIRDREALITY adds a different smart-home connectivity angle, while Emporia is a focused alternative for buyers already interested in energy tracking.
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Long-Term Energy Tracking | Model: H5086 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Operating voltage: 120 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115 | ![]() | Best for Safety-Conscious Beginners | Model: KP115 | Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | Operating voltage: 120 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15 A | ![]() | Best Compact Two-Pack | Model: P115 | Pack size: 2 plugs | Operating voltage: 125 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for SmartLife and Tuya Users | Model: KT-US-EM-15AP | Pack size: 4 plugs | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Cross-Platform Smart Homes | Model: KP125MP2 | Pack size: 2 plugs | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A | ![]() | Best Value for Multi-Room Monitoring | Pack quantity: 4 plugs | Model: P115 | Operating voltage: 110 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Zigbee Energy Monitoring | Pack quantity: 4 plugs | Connectivity protocol: Zigbee 3.0 | Operating voltage: 110 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Matter-Based Smart Homes | Model: KP125MP4 | Pack size: 4 plugs | Maximum wattage: 1800 W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, Wi-Fi, 4 Pack | ![]() | Best for Simple Scheduled Tracking | Model: EMSO1-4 | Quantity: 4 plugs | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15 A | ![]() | Best Matter Pick for Tapo Users | Pack size: 4 plugs | Wattage: 1800 W | Connectivity: Matter, Wi-Fi | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Operating voltage | Connectivity | Model | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | 120 V AC | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | H5086 | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | 120 V AC | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | KP115 | — |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 125 V | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | P115 | 2 plugs |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | 120 V | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | KT-US-EM-15AP | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | 120 V | Matter, Wi-Fi, and SmartThings | KP125MP2 | 2 plugs |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 110 V AC | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | P115 | — |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | 110 V | — | — | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | 120 V | Matter, SmartThings, Wi-Fi | KP125MP4 | 4 plugs |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 120 V | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | EMSO1-4 | — |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs | — | Matter, Wi-Fi | — | 4 plugs |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
The Govee Smart Plug 4-Pack is the strongest fit here if you want energy history to inform decisions beyond the current day: its app retains data for up to one year and reports power, current, and voltage. That gives you more context than a basic energy-use total, while the four-plug bundle suits monitoring several appliances at once. Like the Kasa KP115, it supports Alexa and Google Assistant, remote control, and scheduling; Govee adds Bluetooth and group controls. The tradeoff is app dependence for app-based features, plus a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement that excludes 5 GHz-only networks. Each plug is rated for 15 A and 1,800 W, so this is for household devices within that limit, not higher-draw equipment.
Pros:- Stores energy history for up to one year
- Reports power, current, and voltage
- Includes four plugs with scheduling and group control
- Supports Alexa and Google Assistant voice control
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- App-based features require the Govee Home app
- Each plug is limited to 15 A and 1,800 W
Best for: Households that want to compare several appliances using year-long power, current, and voltage history in one app.
Not ideal for: People whose home network uses only 5 GHz Wi-Fi or who want energy data and controls inside a different smart-home app.
- Model:H5086
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum load:15 A; 1,800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz; no 5 GHz support
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Dimensions:2.68 × 2.4 × 1.5 in
- Certifications:ETL and FCC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if detailed, long-term energy records across multiple devices matter more than using a platform-independent app.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring, KP115
The Kasa KP115 makes sense for someone who wants energy tracking and everyday scheduling without adding a hub or learning a more involved setup. Its overheating protection and child-resistant sliding cover give it a practical safety edge, while Alexa and Google Assistant support keeps routine control familiar. Compared with the Tapo P115, this Kasa model lists IFTTT and Vera compatibility as well as Alexa and Google Assistant, which may suit buyers with existing integrations. Its main compromise is that the product data describes energy consumption tracking without specifying a long retention period or the same breadth of electrical readings as the Govee plug. It also needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and tops out at 15 A and 1,800 W, so it is not a fit for high-load appliances.
Pros:- Tracks energy consumption through the Kasa app
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Overheating protection and a child-resistant sliding cover
- Supports IFTTT and Vera compatibility
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Maximum load is 15 A and 1,800 W
- Provided product data does not specify energy-history retention
Best for: First-time smart-plug buyers who want basic energy tracking, familiar voice control, and added protection for a household outlet.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking year-long energy history, detailed power and voltage readings, or plugs for loads above 1,800 W.
- Model:KP115
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum load:1,800 W
- Compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Vera
- Control:App, voice, and remote control
- Dimensions:2.62 × 1.57 × 1.5 in
- Safety certification:UL
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Pick the KP115 for straightforward energy tracking and added outlet safety, but choose Govee if long-term data detail is the priority.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15 A
The Tapo P115 two-pack suits buyers who want energy statistics for a couple of devices without sacrificing neighboring outlet space. Its compact design is the practical distinction over the larger Govee bundle: it is easier to fit where outlets are close together, while the Tapo app adds monitoring, schedules, and remote control. Alexa and Google Assistant support cover common voice routines, and built-in overload shutoff adds a layer of protection. Compared with the Kasa KP115, Tapo is sold as a two-plug set and explicitly lists overload shutoff, but its stated wireless connection is still limited to 2.4 GHz. The smaller bundle is less suited to tracking a whole room or several appliances, and its 15 A, 1,800 W limit rules out higher-load uses.
Pros:- Compact form helps avoid blocking neighboring outlets
- Provides energy monitoring and consumption statistics
- Includes scheduling, remote control, and voice control
- Built-in overload shutoff
Cons:- Two plugs may be insufficient for monitoring several appliances
- Supports only 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Limited to 15 A and 1,800 W
Best for: Apartment residents and small households who want to monitor two appliances while keeping adjacent wall outlets accessible.
Not ideal for: People monitoring many devices at once, or anyone whose Wi-Fi network does not provide a 2.4 GHz connection.
- Model:P115
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Maximum load:15 A; 1,800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control:Tapo app, remote, and voice
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, and RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the Tapo P115 when a compact pair and basic energy statistics matter more than the four-plug coverage offered by Govee.”
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
The AiSeek four-pack is the lineup’s natural choice for buyers already managing compatible devices through SmartLife or Tuya. It tracks power and energy and combines that monitoring with schedules, timers, and group control, making it easier to automate several appliances together than with a single-plug setup. The Govee four-pack is the stronger alternative if detailed readings and a stated year of historical data matter; AiSeek’s product details do not specify the same retention period or current-and-voltage reporting. In return, AiSeek offers both Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity in its specifications, plus short-circuit and overload protection. Setup for Alexa or Google Assistant involves linking through SmartLife, and the plugs still require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Treat the 1,800 W rating as a firm ceiling.
Pros:- Four plugs support monitoring across multiple appliances
- Tracks real-time power and energy use
- Offers schedules, timers, and group control
- Includes short-circuit and overload protection
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Alexa and Google Assistant require setup through SmartLife
- Product details do not specify historical-data retention
Best for: SmartLife or Tuya users who want to monitor and schedule several household appliances as a group.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a stated long-term energy-history window, detailed electrical readings, or voice setup without linking an app account.
- Model:KT-US-EM-15AP
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum load:15 A; 1,800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- App compatibility:SmartLife and Tuya
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 × 2.8 × 2 in
- Certifications:FCC certified; ETL listed
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek for SmartLife or Tuya-based group scheduling, but favor Govee if detailed historical energy records are your main reason to buy.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack
The Kasa Matter Smart Plug two-pack is the best fit when energy tracking needs to sit inside a mixed-platform smart home. Matter support covers Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while local network control can keep commands working when the internet is unavailable. That platform flexibility sets it apart from the Govee and AiSeek plugs, which rely on their respective apps for app-based features. The tradeoff is a smaller two-plug bundle, and the listed energy-monitoring feature does not specify history length or the range of electrical measurements. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and shares the common 15 A, 1,800 W ceiling, so Matter compatibility does not make it suitable for higher-load equipment. Its compact, flame-retardant construction supports everyday outlet use.
Pros:- Matter support spans several major smart-home platforms
- Local network control can work without internet access
- Includes energy monitoring and app or voice control
- Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant construction
Cons:- Two-plug pack covers fewer appliances than Govee or AiSeek
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Product details do not specify energy-history retention or measurement detail
Best for: Households with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings devices that want energy monitoring and local control across platforms.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need four plugs in one bundle, detailed energy-history specifications, or a plug for loads above 1,800 W.
- Model:KP125MP2
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum load:15 A; 1,800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, and SmartThings
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings
- Control:App and voice; local network control
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Pick this Kasa pack if cross-platform Matter support and local control matter more than getting four plugs or detailed energy-history specifications.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
I’d choose the Tapo P115 four-pack for monitoring several everyday appliances without requiring a smart-home hub. The Tapo app tracks consumption, displays statistics, and estimates energy costs, while schedules, smart charging limits, and automatic shutoff give the readings practical uses beyond curiosity. Its 15A, 1800W rating also matches the Kasa Matter Smart Plug, but the Kasa model adds Matter and local network control for households using several platforms. The P115 instead keeps setup centered on Tapo and standard Wi-Fi, with Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings control. Compact construction helps preserve access to neighboring outlets. The tradeoff is its 2.4 GHz-only connection, and buyers seeking Matter-based flexibility should compare it with the Tapo P110M or Kasa Matter option.
Pros:- App provides energy statistics and estimated costs
- Includes schedules, smart charging limits, and automatic shutoff
- Works with Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
- Compact plugs help leave adjacent outlets accessible
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Does not offer the Matter interoperability found on the Tapo P110M and Kasa Matter plugs
Best for: Households that want to track and schedule several lamps or appliances through one app without adding a Zigbee hub.
Not ideal for: Smart-home users who need Matter interoperability or whose Wi-Fi setup does not support 2.4 GHz devices.
- Pack quantity:4 plugs
- Model:P115
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Maximum power:1800 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control compatibility:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose the P115 four-pack for app-based energy tracking and useful power controls across several rooms, provided 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi suits your setup.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
The THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 is the specialist pick here: its Zigbee 3.0 connection makes it a fit for buyers who already run a hub-based smart home and want plugs to strengthen that network as well as report power use. The stated ±1% monitoring accuracy is a standout specification, and its repeater function can help extend Zigbee coverage to other devices. That gives it a different job from Wi-Fi options such as the Emporia four-pack, which can be used without a separate Zigbee hub. It also works with platforms including Home Assistant, SmartThings, and Hubitat. The hub requirement adds cost and setup complexity, while power-on status restoration varies by platform. Choose it for an established Zigbee system, not as the simplest first energy-monitoring plug.
Pros:- Reports real-time power use with stated ±1% detection accuracy
- Can extend Zigbee mesh coverage as a repeater
- Supports several smart-home platforms, including Home Assistant and Hubitat
- Compact plug-in design helps preserve adjacent socket access
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
- Power-on status restoration is available only on select platforms
- On-off operation may be less flexible than buyers expect from an energy-monitoring plug
Best for: Zigbee smart-home owners using Home Assistant, SmartThings, Hubitat, or a compatible Echo hub who want plug-level energy data and mesh extension.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a standalone Wi-Fi plug, lack a compatible Zigbee hub, or need consistent power-restoration behavior across platforms.
- Pack quantity:4 plugs
- Connectivity protocol:Zigbee 3.0
- Operating voltage:110 V
- Power monitoring accuracy:±1%
- Hub required:Yes
- Control methods:Remote and voice
- Operation mode:On-off
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick THIRDREALITY if you already have a compatible Zigbee hub and value accurate monitoring plus mesh extension more than simple Wi-Fi setup.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack
I’d put the Kasa Matter four-pack near the top for households that want energy monitoring to work across more than one smart-home ecosystem. Its Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while local network control can keep commands available when internet access is down. That broader platform reach is the main distinction from the Tapo P115, which offers useful app statistics and energy controls but lacks Matter. The Kasa also tracks usage and has a UL-certified flame-retardant design, giving buyers practical control and a stated safety certification in one compact plug. The limits are straightforward: it still needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and its 15A/1800W ceiling rules out loads beyond that rating. Choose it for cross-platform convenience, not higher capacity.
Pros:- Matter support covers four major smart-home platforms
- Energy monitoring is available through the Kasa ecosystem
- Local network control can work when internet access is unavailable
- Compact design with UL-certified flame-retardant construction
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Maximum load is limited to 15A or 1800W
- Matter compatibility does not remove the need to check platform-specific setup
Best for: Households with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings devices that want shared Matter control and energy tracking.
Not ideal for: Owners of appliances that exceed the 15A/1800W limit or buyers whose network cannot support 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, SmartThings, Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa Matter four-pack if cross-platform control and local operation matter more than avoiding Wi-Fi or exceeding its 1800W limit.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, Wi-Fi, 4 Pack
The Emporia four-pack makes sense for buyers who want to track plug-level consumption and automate basic on/off routines without paying for a hub-based setup. Its app, remote, touch, and voice controls cover familiar ways to manage connected devices, and schedules can switch appliances automatically. Compared with the Tapo P115, Emporia is less feature-rich: the supplied details do not list smart charging limits, automatic shutoff, or estimated energy costs. Its 1200W rating and 10A continuous-load limit also sit below the 1800W ratings of the Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter plug, so load compatibility deserves attention before purchase. In return, it offers a straightforward four-plug Wi-Fi option with Alexa and Google Assistant support. Its 2.4 GHz-only requirement remains a constraint.
Pros:- Tracks connected-device energy use
- Supports schedules and remote switching through the Emporia app
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Four plugs offer coverage across multiple devices
Cons:- 1200W rating is lower than the 1800W Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter options
- Limited to a 10A continuous load
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz networks
Best for: Alexa or Google Assistant households tracking and scheduling lower-wattage lamps and appliances across several rooms.
Not ideal for: People monitoring devices that may exceed 1200W or draw more than 10A continuously, or users who need 5 GHz Wi-Fi support.
- Model:EMSO1-4
- Quantity:4 plugs
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Wattage:1200 W
- Continuous load:10 A
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:App, remote, touch, and voice
- Certifications:ETL, FCC
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose Emporia for simple app-based tracking and scheduling on lower-load devices, but check the 10A continuous limit before connecting an appliance.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15 A
The Tapo P110M four-pack suits buyers who want Tapo’s energy tracking alongside Matter-based access to major smart-home platforms. It reports usage and statistics, supports schedules and power thresholds, and works with Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings. Those thresholds give it a more targeted role than the Kasa Matter plug: they can help users manage consumption or avoid leaving a device charging past a chosen limit. Both offer Matter and a stated 1800W capacity, so the deciding factor is often whether the Tapo app’s energy tools fit your routine. Its compact body helps keep neighboring outlets usable. The main compromise is shared with many Wi-Fi plugs: it requires 2.4 GHz. The listed details also do not specify a certification or warranty, unlike the Kasa Matter model’s stated UL certification and two-year limited warranty.
Pros:- Matter compatibility spans Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Tracks energy use and provides usage statistics
- Power thresholds and schedules add control beyond basic on/off switching
- Compact design helps preserve access to adjacent outlets
Cons:- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Product details do not state a certification or warranty
- Its 1800W rating may not suit devices exceeding that load
Best for: Tapo app users who want Matter-compatible energy monitoring, scheduling, and power-threshold controls across four outlets.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require 5 GHz Wi-Fi or want a listed certification and warranty before choosing a plug.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Control methods:App, voice, scheduling
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Color:White
Our verdict“Choose the P110M if you want Tapo energy tools and Matter platform flexibility, and its 2.4 GHz requirement fits your network.”

How We Picked
I ranked these smart plugs with energy monitoring by how clearly each option fits common buying needs: monitoring usefulness, stated electrical rating, smart-home compatibility, pack size, and the practicality of managing several plugs. I also separated products that appear similar by their role in the lineup, such as Matter-enabled models, larger multi-packs, and the compact single-plug Kasa KP115. Where two listings share a model family but differ in pack size, I treated quantity as a buying distinction rather than assuming a change in performance.
The ranking favors options with a clear use case and a useful balance of monitoring and smart-home features. Compatibility and electrical limits matter more than a long feature list: a plug is a poor match if it does not work with a buyer’s ecosystem or intended device. Pack size, app needs, and the exact energy data available also affect long-term usefulness. Product-specific details can vary by model and region, so I recommend checking the listing and manufacturer documentation for supported platforms, monitoring functions, and load limits before purchase.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Certifications |
|---|---|
| Govee Smart Plug with Energy M | ETL and FCC |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | — |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | ETL, FCC, and RoHS |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | FCC certified; ETL listed |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | — |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | ETL, FCC, RoHS |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | — |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | ETL, FCC |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Before choosing a plug, I would match the monitoring goal to the device, then check compatibility and outlet fit. These broader questions can prevent a common mistake: buying a multi-pack first and discovering that the plugs do not suit the intended appliances or smart-home setup.
Decide What You Want the Energy Data to Tell You
Start with a specific question, such as whether a rarely used appliance draws power while idle or how much a home-office setup consumes over time. A plug that reports energy use is most useful when its app presents data at a level you will actually check and act on. Before buying, confirm whether the product provides the readings and history you need; the phrase energy monitoring does not guarantee identical reports across brands. Avoid buying several plugs before checking how energy data is organized in the app. If you only need on/off scheduling, monitoring may add little value, while a device-level energy question makes it more worthwhile.
Match the Plug’s Rating to the Device
Check the device label or manual and compare its electrical requirements with the plug’s stated limits. A 15A rating, as listed for the Tapo P115 and Tapo P110M, is a useful specification, but it is not permission to run every high-draw appliance through a smart plug. Motors, heaters, and appliances with particular startup or operating requirements may need direct connection or a purpose-built control. Do not rely on the plug’s monitoring feature to protect equipment from an unsuitable load. When the appliance requirements are unclear, consult its manufacturer rather than guessing from wattage alone.
Check Your Smart-Home Ecosystem Before Choosing Matter
Matter support can make a plug easier to include in a compatible smart-home system, but it does not mean every feature works identically in every app. Check whether the platform you use supports the functions you care about, especially energy reporting, automations, and remote access. The Kasa Matter models and Tapo P110M are the Matter-oriented choices here; other listed plugs may suit buyers who prefer their maker’s own app and setup. A common misstep is assuming that basic on/off control guarantees energy data will appear in every third-party interface. If you already own a hub or use several platforms, verify device requirements before choosing.
Choose Pack Size Around Your Monitoring Plan
A four-pack can make sense when you have several known devices to track, but buying more plugs than you need can complicate setup and leave monitoring data scattered across unused devices. The lineup includes both two- and four-pack versions of Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter plugs, so quantity is a direct point of comparison. List the outlets you intend to monitor and check whether they are close enough to your router and easy to reach. For a first trial, a smaller pack can help you learn whether the app and reporting suit your routine. Scale up only after you know which devices benefit from ongoing measurement.
Measure Outlet Space and Neighboring Plugs
Smart plugs can block an adjacent socket even when their own body seems compact. Check the product dimensions and the layout of the outlet, especially behind furniture or on a power strip. A multi-pack is less useful if the plugs crowd out other equipment or are awkward to reach for resets. This matters most in kitchens, media centers, and shared outlets where several adapters compete for space. If two sockets are side by side, prioritize a design that leaves the other outlet usable rather than choosing solely by pack count.
Think About Data, Privacy, and Long-Term App Use
Energy monitoring depends on an app or smart-home interface, so the software experience can matter as much as the plug itself. Check how the manufacturer describes account requirements, data access, and the app features available in your region. If you want to compare consumption over weeks or share control with other household members, confirm that the reporting and account setup support that routine. A low-friction on/off control can still be a poor monitoring fit if energy data is difficult to find or export. Favor the ecosystem you are prepared to keep using, not just the one with the most appealing initial feature list.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use an energy-monitoring smart plug with a heater or other high-power appliance?
Only if the appliance’s requirements fall within the plug’s stated limits and the manufacturer permits that use. A 15A rating does not automatically make a plug suitable for every heater, motor, or device with a high startup draw. Check the appliance manual, plug documentation, and any restrictions on continuous or unattended operation. If the guidance is unclear, connect the appliance directly to the wall or ask its manufacturer. Energy monitoring is not a substitute for electrical protection.
Will Matter let me see energy use in every smart-home app?
No. Matter support can help a compatible plug join supported smart-home systems, but app support for energy reporting may differ from support for basic on/off control. Check the plug maker’s compatibility notes and the documentation for your preferred platform before buying. The Kasa Matter and Tapo P110M options are relevant for buyers seeking Matter, but you should confirm that your desired energy data is exposed in the app you plan to use. A hub or controller may also be required for some setups.
Should I buy a two-pack or a four-pack if I am not sure how many plugs I need?
I would begin with the number of devices you already know you want to monitor, rather than choosing a pack based only on its size. The Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter options in this roundup come in both two- and four-pack configurations, which makes them easier to match to a small or larger plan. A smaller pack lets you check setup, outlet fit, and reporting before adding more devices. Choose a four-pack when several suitable loads are already identified and the plugs will be used in practical locations. More plugs do not make energy data more useful unless you review it.
Can smart plugs measure the electricity used by an entire room?
These plugs measure the device connected through each individual plug, not all the wiring or outlets in a room. To estimate a room’s usage, you would need to monitor each relevant plug-in device and account for anything connected directly to the wall or on an unmonitored circuit. That can produce a partial picture rather than a whole-room measurement. If your goal is household or circuit-level tracking, look at a monitoring system designed for that scope instead of adding plugs indiscriminately. A plug is most useful when you want a reading tied to one specific appliance.
Do I need to keep the manufacturer’s app if I use a Matter plug?
Not always for basic control, but the manufacturer’s app may still provide setup, firmware updates, or energy details that a third-party platform does not show. Before choosing a Matter model, check which functions remain available in your preferred smart-home app and whether initial setup requires the maker’s app. This matters especially if energy reporting is the main reason for buying the plug. If you want to avoid multiple apps, confirm that your chosen platform exposes the measurements and controls you expect. Keep access to the maker’s app if the documentation says it is needed for maintenance.
Conclusion
For most buyers, I recommend the Kasa KP115 as the best overall choice in this lineup, while shoppers who want several monitored outlets can look to a multi-pack such as the Tapo P115. Best value depends on how many plugs you will use: a two-pack avoids buying extras, while a four-pack makes more sense for a defined multi-device plan. For a Matter-focused setup, my best premium-style pick is the Kasa Matter Smart Plug, with the Tapo P110M as another Matter option for shoppers comparing a four-pack. Beginners should start with a smaller pack and verify app reporting before expanding; buyers already invested in energy tracking can look at Emporia, while those drawn to a different smart-home connectivity approach can compare THIRDREALITY. Match the plug to your platform, appliance limits, and monitoring goal rather than choosing by pack size alone.
Halloween Picks

Govee Outdoor Halloween Projector Light with 3D Effects

12-Foot Inflatable Pumpkin Halloween Archway with LED Lights

10.5 ft Lighted Pumpkin and Ghost Halloween Inflatable Archway
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













