TL;DR
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Microsoft has begun testing a pay-as-you-go option that lets Xbox Insiders stream eligible games they own, with introductory packs costing $4 to $12 for 10 to 50 hours. The per-hour price ranges from 40 cents to 24 cents, and the playtime does not expire before use; players still need to own the game or have free-to-play access.
Microsoft has started offering paid Xbox Cloud Playtime packs to Xbox Insiders, letting them stream eligible games they own for a set number of hours. The introductory prices run from $4 for 10 hours to $12 for 50 hours, or about 40 to 24 cents per hour, adding a separate streaming charge for many games players have already bought.
The offer is an a la carte cloud-streaming option, not a purchase of the game itself. Microsoft’s listed introductory packs are 10 hours for $4, 25 hours for $8 and 50 hours for $12. The largest pack has the lowest hourly rate, about 24 cents; the smallest costs about 40 cents per hour. Microsoft describes the prices as introductory.
According to Microsoft, purchased playtime remains available until it is used, rather than expiring after a set period. The packs require a player to have bought a game that supports cloud play, or to have access to a qualifying free-to-play game. They do not remove the separate game-purchase requirement for paid titles.
The arrangement differs from streaming access included in Xbox Game Pass, which provides some monthly cloud play across its library as part of a subscription. Ars Technica reported the new pricing and compared the per-hour model with arcade play. The new packs instead meter time for eligible games, with the cost of the game potentially paid separately.
Streaming Adds a Second Game Cost
For players who prefer streaming to installing a game locally, the packs offer a way to play eligible titles without relying on the Game Pass subscription model. But the pricing creates a two-part cost for purchased games: the initial price of the game and, when streamed through these packs, an additional fee for playtime.
The value will depend on how often someone streams, the price they paid for the game and whether they have another way to play it. A player who streams occasionally may find a small pack useful; someone who plays for many hours could face recurring costs. The lowest rate applies only to the largest pack, which requires paying $12 up front.
This also gives Xbox a metered alternative to subscription-based access. Unlike buying a game for local play, streaming time is limited by the hours purchased. The packs’ non-expiring status means players can use them at their own pace, but it does not change the fact that streaming is billed separately.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Xbox’s Shift Toward Metered Access
Microsoft had signaled the option in September, when it limited the cloud-game-streaming access available to Game Pass subscribers. At that time, the company said non-subscribers would soon be able to purchase cloud playtime through the Xbox Store and stream eligible games they own on supported devices. The Insider rollout is the next step in that plan.
The pricing model also differs from Google Stadia’s approach. Stadia allowed unlimited streaming for games purchased on its platform, according to Ars Technica; it did not charge users by the hour. However, Stadia purchases did not provide local downloads for PC or console, and Google shut the service down in 2022, refunding purchases. Xbox’s arrangement is distinct because the cloud-time fee can sit alongside ownership of a game playable through other means.
““Purchased playtime remains available until it’s used.””
— Microsoft
Availability and Future Pricing
The rollout is currently for Xbox Insiders. The supplied information does not specify when the packs will become available to all Xbox users, which supported devices and territories are included, or the full list of eligible games. Microsoft calls the prices introductory but has not provided a date for when that pricing might end or what rates could follow.
It is also not clear whether the final service will retain the same pack sizes and terms after the Insider test. The announcement does not provide enough detail to compare the total cost for specific games or typical play habits, and it does not say whether players will have other cloud-streaming access for those titles outside these packs.
Insider Test Before Wider Release
Microsoft is testing the paid playtime option with Xbox Insiders. The next milestones to watch are whether the company expands access, publishes a broader list of eligible titles and supported devices, and confirms whether the introductory prices will carry over to a general launch.
Until those details are announced, the confirmed offer is limited to the stated packs and eligibility rules. Players considering the service can compare the hourly cost with their existing Game Pass access or local play options, while keeping in mind that the game may still need to be purchased separately.
Key Questions
How much does Xbox Cloud Playtime cost?
The introductory packs cost $4 for 10 hours, $8 for 25 hours and $12 for 50 hours. That works out to about 40, 32 and 24 cents per hour, respectively.
Do players still need to buy the game?
For paid titles, yes: Microsoft says a pack requires ownership of a cloud-playable game. Select free-to-play games may be accessed without buying the game.
Do purchased streaming hours expire?
Microsoft says purchased playtime remains available until it is used. The company has not specified other restrictions in the supplied details.
Is the service available to everyone?
The rollout described is for Xbox Insiders. A general release date has not been announced in the source material.
Are these hours included with Game Pass?
The new packs are an a la carte purchase. Ars Technica reports that Game Pass includes some monthly cloud-streaming access as part of its subscription, while these packs charge separately for additional streaming time.
Source: hn
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
